Logistics Hall of Fame

Contact for queries: Anita Würmser, phone +49 (0)89 958226-11, anita.wuermser@logistikhalloffame.de

Press release

World Campaign: "Historic Milestones of Logistics"

- Who achieved great things in logistics before the year 2000 and has earned a place in the Logistics Hall of Fame?
- Logisticians around the world are called upon to propose suitable candidates up to April 30, 2016 at www.logisticshalloffame.net.
- Dorothee Bär, Logistics Coordinator of the German Government, is the patron of the campaign.

Unterföhring near Munich, November 12, 2015. Traditionally, one only person is inducted into the international pantheon of logistics each year. In the coming year, however, the plan is to induct as many new members as possible. The motto for the 2016 voting period for the Logistics Hall of Fame is "Historic Milestones of Logistics".

With immediate effect, associations, organisations, industry, politics, academia and the media are called upon to propose individuals who achieved a so-called milestone in logistics before the year 2000. The goal of the campaign is compile a worldwide documentation of outstanding logistics achievements – starting in fields like transport and logistics and extending through to intralogistics and information logistics.

"Historic Milestones provides us with an opportunity to underline not only the performance capability of logistics but also and above all the major importance that outstanding logistics achievements have always had for growth and prosperity", says Dorothee Bär, Logistics Coordinator of the German Government and patron of the campaign. She adds: "It is important that all logisticians around the world become involved and propose suitable candidates or indeed themselves for induction to the Logistics Hall of Fame."

An international "Historic Milestones Committee" headed by Christian Labrot, General Manager of the German Association for Business, Transport and Logistics (BWVL) in Bonn will manage the campaign and evaluate the submitted proposals. Scientific oversight for the campaign will be provided by Prof. Dr. Michael ten Hompel, Executive Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics in Dortmund and himself a member of the Logistics Hall of Fame. The Historic Milestones campaign will be supported by other committee members such as the worldwide logistics association IRU (International Road Transport Union) and the ELA (European Logistics Association).

Historic Milestones of Logistics: submitting proposals

Individuals or groups of people can be proposed who have advanced the development of logistics in a decisive way through a societal, organisational, technical, scientific or business management achievement. In the first selection phase, a Nomination Committee nominates the candidates from all the proposals; the names of these candidates are then submitted to the jury together with a voting recommendation. The jury then votes to decide who will be the new inductee into the Logistics Hall of Fame. Nomination or election does not depend on occupational position or repute. The decisive factor is that the achievement was recorded before the year

2000 and has provably had positive impacts on a large group of companies or institutions. A two-thirds majority of the jury votes is required for induction into the Logistics Hall of Fame.

Proposals and applications are free of charge and can only be submitted on the Internet at www.logisticshalloffame.net. The public proposal phase ends on April 30, 2016. The names of the newly elected members will be announced at the annual Logistics Hall of Fame Gala in 2016 at the Federal Ministry of Transport in Berlin, Germany.

The Logistics Hall of Fame: milestones and the people behind them

The Logistics Hall of Fame honours leading figures who have made outstanding efforts to promote the further development of logistics and supply chain management. The initiative is supported by the German Federal Ministry of Transport as well as the relevant international sector associations, media and companies, including the Port of Duisburg (duisport), logistics insurer Kravag, the Fahrzeugwerk Bernard Krone company, intralogistics provider Still, the Federal Central Cooperative for Road Transport (SVG) and the TimoCom freight exchange. The aim of the Logistics Hall of Fame is to act as a worldwide platform to publicise the performance capability of logistics and its importance for society.

To date, 19 logisticians have been inducted into the sector pantheon. Alongside Heidi Senger-Weiss, other members of the Logistics Hall of Fame include entrepreneur and logistics benefactor Klaus-Michael Kühne as well as the contract logistics pioneers Heinz Fiege and Hugo Fiege, long-time President of the German Association of Road Haulage, Logistics and Disposal (BGL) Hermann Grewer, Dortmund-based logistics researcher Michael ten Hompel, the long-time CEO of BLG, Detthold Aden, BVL founder Hanspeter Stabenau and other innovative professors. The other major figures posthumously voted into the Hall of Fame include Gottlieb Daimler, inventor of the truck, William Tunner, the man who organised the Berlin Airlift, Gottfried Schenker as a pioneer of combined transportation, Eugene Clark, the inventor of the forklift truck, Malcom McLean, father of containerisation, and Japanese Toyota manager Taiichi Ohno, who invented the just-in-time concept.

The Hall of Fame can be accessed free of charge at any time at <u>www.logisticshalloffame.net</u> and features information and photos on logistics milestones and the people behind them.

Photo: (Logistics Hall of Fame)



Who achieved great things in logistics before the year 2000 and has earned a place in the Logistics Hall of Fame? The logistics pantheon calls upon logisticians around the world to submit their proposals. Photo: Logistics Hall of Fame

Printabel photos in the press section:

http://www.logisticshalloffame.net/en/press/press-information/world-campaign-historicmilestones-of-logistics

You can find more information and printable photos of all members in the press section at: <u>www.logisticshalloffame.net</u>

Background:

The Logistics Hall of Fame was founded in 2003 and honours leading figures who have made outstanding efforts to promote the further development of logistics and supply chain management. This eternal pantheon is also designed to remind future generations of the achievements of these individuals in the service of logistics. The aim of the Logistics Hall of Fame is to act as a worldwide platform to publicise the performance capability of logistics and its importance for society.

The Logistics Hall of Fame is a non-profit initiative supported by the world of politics, associations, the logistics industry and logistics science. The patron of the Hall of Fame is Alexander Dobrindt, Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI). Supporters of the Logistics Hall of Fame: Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) German Association of Road Haulage, Logistics and Disposal (BGL) German Association Materials Management, Purchasing and Logistics (BME) German Association for Business, Transport and Logistics (BWVL) Bundesvereinigung Logistik (BVL) Business+Logistic DVV Media Group, Deutsche Verkehrs-Zeitung (DVZ) Association of German Freight Forwarders and Logistics Operators (DSLV) Deutsches Verkehrsforum European Logistics Association (ELA) International Road Transport Union (IRU) Port of Duisburg (duisport) Fahrzeugwerk Bernard Krone Kravag Lebensmittel Zeitung LT-manager Still Federal Central Cooperative for Road Transport (SVG) TimoCom wuermser.communications

Reproduction free of charge. Courtesy copy requested.

Anita Würmser . wuermser.communications . Postfach 13 04 . D- 85767 Unterföhring Phone +49 (0)89 958226-11 . anita.wuermser@logistikhalloffame.de . www.logisticshalloffame.net