BMW Corporate Communications



BMW Sports Trophy

2010 BMW Sports Trophy goes to Sweden: Richard Göransson crowned the most successful BMW privateer for the second time.

Munich, 4th December 2010. Richard Göransson (SE) has crowned his successful 2010 season with another trophy. At Saturday's BMW Sports Trophy Award Ceremony in Munich, the 32-year-old was presented with a winner's cheque for 30,000 Euros by BMW Motorsport Director Mario Theissen. Göransson, who won the 2010 Swedish Touring Car Championship (STCC), scored 474 points in the traditional BMW privateer competition over the course of the season. This proved enough to clinch the coveted title, ahead of the Japanese duo of Nobuteru Taniguchi and Masataka Yanagida, who finished tied in second place having won the Super Taikyu Series in their BMW Z4 M Coupé. Fourth place went to BMW M3 driver Thomas Biagi (IT), who won this year's Superstars Series.

Since its introduction in the 1960s, the BMW Sports Trophy has been awarded each year to the most successful private BMW drivers around the world. This year's record entry figures – 214 drivers from 25 countries – are emphatic proof of the huge interest in BMW Motorsport's Customer Racing programme. Over the course of the season, success reports were submitted to the company headquarters in Munich from 32 racing series across the globe. The 2010 competition once again boasted a total prize purse of about 250,000 Euros.

"Congratulations to Richard Göransson on winning the BMW Sports Trophy," said BMW Motorsport Director Mario Theissen. "Richard has consistently been one of the most successful BMW privateers. He won the competition back in 2004 and has since been a worthy representative of the BMW colours, winning countless races. This year's triumph with the BMW 320si in Sweden deserves the greatest respect. My compliments go to all 214 BMW Sports Trophy participants. Thanks to their performances in a wide range of BMW racing cars, they have played a significant role in the presence of BMW in international motorsport."

Göransson claimed three race victories and seven further podium finishes in the STCC. These results earned him his eighth successive invitation to the BMW Sports Trophy Award Ceremony. His incredible record in the competition includes six top-three finishes. He said: "The title in Sweden means an awful lot to me. To come out on top at the BMW Sports Trophy as well makes it twice as nice. I really like the atmosphere at the Award Ceremony in Munich. It is fun meeting and chatting to the other drivers from around the world, and to be able to do that as the winner is fantastic. I would like to thank BMW for its support."

Drivers from anywhere in the world can enter the BMW Sports Trophy and score points with various BMW cars in numerous series across the globe. You can find more information online at: www.bmw-sportstrophy.com.

Press Contact: Ingo Lehbrink, BMW Corporate Affairs, Sport Communications, Office: +49 (0)89 382 76003, Mobile: +49 (0) 176 20340224, ingo.lehbrink@bmw.de

BMW Corporate Communications



Final 2010 BMW Sports Trophy standings.

	Name	Nat	Car	Points	Achievements/race series
1	Göransson,	SE	BMW 320si	474.00	1 st place Swedish Touring Car
	Richard				Championship
2	Yanagida,	JP	BMW Z4 M Coupé	367.64	1 st place Super Taikyu, 2 nd place Dubai
	Masataka				24 Hours
	Taniguchi,	JP	BMW Z4 M Coupé	367.64	1 st place Super Taikyu, 2 nd place Dubai
	Nobuteru				24 Hours
4	Biagi,	IT	BMW M3	367.50	1 st place Superstars Series
	Thomas				
5	Böhm,	DE	BMW 325i	349.20	Class victory Dubai 24 Hours, 6 VLN
	Alexander				class victories
6	Zink, Hans-	CH	BMW M3	345.00	1 st place DMV Touring Car
	Christian				Championship
7	Ukhov,	RU	BMW 320i	333.21	1 st place Russian Touring Car
	Mikhail				Championship
8	Hernández,	ES	BMW 320si	321.67	1 st place WTCC Independents' Trophy
	Sergio				
9	Kane,	GB	BMW 320si	321.67	1 victory and 7 further podiums British
	Steven				Touring Car Championship
10	Espenlaub,	US	BMW M3	318.00	1 st place Grand-AM (GS class)
	Charles				
	Putman,	US	BMW M3	318.00	1 st place Grand-AM (GS class)
	Charles				
12	Knechtges,	DE	BMW 325i	310.00	6 victories VLN Endurance
	Carsten				Championship
	Leisen,	DE	BMW 325i	310.00	6 victories VLN Endurance
	Philipp				Championship
14	Engstler,	DE	BMW 320si	306.67	2 nd place WTCC Independents' Trophy
	Franz				
15	Huisman,	NL	BMW M3 GT4	304.70	5 victories Dutch GT4 Championship
	Duncan				
16	Jackson,	GB	BMW 320si	300.00	1 victory and 5 further podiums British
	Mat				Touring Car Championship
17	Björk,	SE	BMW 320si	297.67	2 victories Swedish Touring Car
	Thed				Championship
18	Merten,	DE	BMW Z4	292.00	1 st place VLN Endurance Championship
	Mario				
	Silvester,	DE	BMW Z4	292.00	1 st place VLN Endurance Championship
	Wolf				
20	Shaharom,	MY	BMW Z4 M Coupé	291.50	1 st place Super Taikyu
	Imran				
21	Van der	NL	BMW M3 GT4	279.03	3 victories Dutch GT4, 1 race victory
	Ende,				Toerwagen Diesel Cup
	Ricardo				
22	Heumann,	US	BMW 328i	272.00	2 class victories Grand-AM (ST class)
	William				
	Thomas,	US	BMW 328i	272.00	2 class victories Grand-AM (ST class)
	Seth				
24	Driscoll,	US	BMW 323i	268.57	7 class victories TeamDI Pro IT Series
	Rob				(Pro IT Series)
25	Collard,	GB	BMW 320si	268.33	7 podium finishes British Touring Car
	Robert	1	1	1	Championship

Motorsport